

REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES
PHILIPPINE STATISTICS AUTHORITY
LA UNION PROVINCIAL STATISTICAL OFFICE



PRESS RELEASE

PGLU and PSA award 34th National Statistics Month winners during Provincial Closing Ceremony

Date of Release: 22 November 2023

Reference No. 2023-85

The Provincial Government of La Union (PGLU) and the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA)-La Union, together with the Provincial Statistics Committee (PSC), marked the conclusion of La Union's 34th National Statistics Month (NSM) celebration in the province through a closing ceremony and the awarding of 34th NSM contest winners on 26 October 2023 at the Department of Education (DepEd) La Union Schools Division Office (LUSDO) Conference Center, Brgy. Catbangen, City of San Fernando, La Union.

The Closing Ceremony was attended by winners of the 34th NSM contests from the public and private secondary and tertiary schools, Local Government Units (LGUs), Provincial Line Agencies (PLAs), and the media.

During the closing ceremony, Assistant Provincial Planning and Coordinator, EnP Darius Leo A. Cargamento, delivered the opening remarks, followed by the message of the guest speaker, Regional Director (RD) Atty. Sheila O. De Guzman of PSA-Regional Statistical Services Office I (RSSO I), delivered by Chief Statistical Specialist (CSS) Juanito Y. Yabes of the Statistical Operations and Coordination Division (SOCD). In the message of Atty. De Guzman, she highlighted that in order to accelerate the economic progress of the country, sound policies based on data and statistics geared towards improving the current health system are needed to make way for coordinated planning services, equitable access to health care services, and sustained financing for local health interventions.

Governor Raphaelle Veronica "Rafy" Ortega-David also graced the undertaking and expressed her deepest gratitude to all of the offices involved in organizing and implementing the NSM activities through dedication, hard work, and La Union Probinsyanihan, which led to a successful celebration.

Governor Ortega-David led the awarding of the 34th NSM contests winners which was the highlight of the closing ceremony. The winners were awarded with plaque, medals and cash prizes. Representatives from the component LGUs of the province were also awarded a certificate of appreciation, acknowledging and commending their dynamic engagement in La Union's NSM celebration.

The event was officially concluded by CSS Danites E. Teñido, PhD of PSA-La Union, who thanked everyone for their strong and constant support to the NSM activities and congratulated the winners of the NSM contests. She also reminded everyone of the objectives of the month-long celebration, that is: (1) to promote, enhance, and instill awareness and appreciation of the importance and value of statistics to the different sectors of the society; and (2) to elicit the cooperation and support of the general public in upgrading the quality and standards of statistics in the country.

DANITES E. TENIDO, PhD

Chief Statistical Specialist





The Fifth Bldg., Gov. Ancheta St., Brgy. IV, City of San Fernando, La Union Telefax: (072) 888-5740 E-mail: launion@psa.gov.ph

WINNERS OF THE 34TH NSM CONTESTS

JINGLE SING AND DANCE CONTEST (Secondary Level)

Champion: LA UNION NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL First Runner-up: DON EULOGIO DE GUZMAN MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH Second Runner-up DMMMSU-SLUC

JINGLE SING AND DANCE CONTEST (Tertiary Level)

Champion: CICOSAT COLLEGESL First Runner-up: DMMMSU-SLUC

ORATORICAL CONTEST (Secondary Level)

Champion: DMMMSU-SLUC First Runner-up: DON EULOGIO DE GUZMAN MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL Second Runner-up PRESIDENT ELPIDIO QUIRINO NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL

ORATORICAL CONTEST (Tertiary Level)

Champion: DMMMSU-SLUC First Runner-up: DMMMSU-MLUC Second Runner-up DMMMSU-NLUC

POSTER SLOGAN MAKING CONTEST (Secondary Level)

Champion:	LUNA NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL
First Runner-up:	REGIONAL SCIENCE HIGH SCHOOL FOR REGION I
Second Runner-up	DOÑA FRANCISCA LACSAMANA DE ORTEGA MEMORIAL NATIONAL
	HIGH SCHOOL

INFOGRAPHICS MAKING CONTEST (Tertiary Level)

Champion:	DMMMSU-MLUC
First Runner-up:	CICOSAT COLLEGES
Second Runner-up	DMMMSU-SLUC

ESSAY WRITING CONTEST (Secondary Level)

Champion: REGIONAL SCIENCE HIGH SCHOOL FOR REGION I First Runner-up: SAINT LOUIS COLLEGE Second Runner-up DON EULOGIO DE GUZMAN MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL

ESSAY WRITING CONTEST (Tertiary Level)

Champion:	DMMMSU-MLUC
First Runner-up:	DMMMSU-SLUC
Second Runner-up	CICOSAT COLLEGES

ESSAY WRITING CONTEST (Employee Level)

Champion: DON EUFEMIO F. ERIGUEL MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL First Runner-up: DON EULOGIO DE GUZMAN MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL Second Runner-up PRESIDENT ELPIDIO QUIRINO NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL

STATISTICS QUIZ (Secondary Level)

Champion:	SAINT LOUIS COLLEGE
First Runner-up:	BHC EDUCATION INSTITUTION, INC.
Second Runner-up	TUBAO NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL

STATISTICS QUIZ (Tertiary Level)

Champion:	DMMMSU-SLUC
First Runner-up:	DMMMSU-NLUC
Second Runner-up	SAINT LOUIS COLLEGE

PSC LOGO MAKING CONTEST

Champion:	Mia Gwyneth P. Agonos
	DMMMSU-MLUC
First Runner-up:	Cedric Jacob P. Oribello
	DON EUFEMIO F. ERIGUEL MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL
Second Runner-up	Niels Azer M. Agustin
	DMMMSU-MLUC

4TH GOVERNOR'S CUP ON INFOGRAPHICS MAKING CONTEST

Champion:	Mary Rose B. Mapili
127 122	MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT OF ROSARIO, LA UNION
First Runner-up:	
	DEPED-SAN JUAN SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL STAND ALONE
Second Runner-up	Freda Mae M. Dulatre
	MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT OF ROSARIO, LA UNION

34TH NSM DIGITAL STATISTICAL EXHIBIT CONTEST

Champion:	REGIONAL SCIENCE HIGH SCHOOL FOR REGION I
	Focal Person: Antoniette Padua
First Runner-up:	LA UNION NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL
	Focal Person: Roegen C. Rivera
Second Runner-up	CASTOR Z. CONCEPCION MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL
	Focal Person: Roselily R. Navidad

PHOTO RELEASE



Governor Raphaelle Veronica "Rafy" Ortega-David awards the Mark of Gratitude to CSS Juanito Y. Yabes representing RD Atty. Sheila O. De Guzman, Guest Speaker for the 34th NSM Closing Ceremony.



La Union National High School, provincial champion of the Jingle Sing and Dance contest, receive their award during the 34th NSM Closing Ceremony.